Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

The Arts

​The arts is another one of the eight key learning areas and comprises five distinct but related components:

  • Music
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Media
  • Visual arts

The arts communicate ideas, narratives and emotions showcasing unique identities and means of expression. In the arts, students learn through experiences as artists and as audiences, acquiring skills specific to the arts subjects and developing critical understanding that informs decision-making and aesthetic choices. Through the arts, students learn to explore and express themselves as they discover and interpret the worlds around them, communicating ideas with current and emerging technologies and using arts knowledge and understanding to make sense of their worlds. The arts entertain, challenge, provoke responses and express and share the discourse and energy of communities, cultures and histories.

The arts provides opportunities for students to:

  • use their creativity, imagination and senses
  • to express ideas about social, cultural, historical and spiritual contexts through dance, drama, music, media and visual art
  • create their own and others’ arts works considering intended audiences and intended responses.